Jane Teller, Abida Parveen, Faisal Edhi among 88 conferred civil awards by President Alvi

Jane Teller, Abida Parveen, Faisal Edhi among 88 conferred civil awards by President Alvi


No description available.BY Shabbir Hussain https://twitter.com/shabbir818 https://www.facebook.com/ 

Islamabad , March 23 , Diplomatic Star (DS): President Dr Arif Alvi on Tuesday conferred civil awards on 88 Pakistani and foreign nationals in recognition of their services in different fields during a ceremony held here at Aiwan-i-Sadr.

The awards conferred to the prominent individuals included; 6 Nishan-i-Imtiaz, 3 Hilal-i-Imtiaz, 24 Sitara-i-Shuja’at, 8 Sitara-i-Imtiaz, 14 President’s Award for Pride of Performance, 1 Sitara-i-Quaid-i-Azam, 1 Sitara-i-Khidmat, 1 Tamgha-i-Pakistan, 22 Tamgha-i-Shuja’at and 8 Tamgha-i-Imtiaz.

The recipients of the awards were honoured for showing excellence in fields such as medicine, education, social services, fine arts, and for showing gallantry in the war against terrorism and during the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

Tamgha-i-Pakistan to Jane Teller (Denmark) for rendering great services to Pakistan and and Sitara-i-Quaid-i-Azam was awarded to Prof Dr Tariq Shafi, Sitara-i-Khidmat to Richard Geary Horwitz (USA).

Jane Teller (Denmark) receiving Pakistan’s Civil Award from President Arif Alvi Tamgha-i-Pakistan for rendering great services to Pakistan


The individuals who received the Nishan-i-Imtiaz included; Sadeqain Naqvi (Art), Abida Parveen (Singing), Ahmad Faraz (Literature), Prof Shakir Ali (Art), Zahoorul Haq (Art), and Dr Jameel Jalibi (Literature).

Eight Sitara-i-Imtiaz were conferred on individuals which include; Prof Dr Farhan Saif (Education), Bushra Ansari (Arts), Muhammad Imran Qureshi (Arts), Sultana Siddiqui (Television Production), Syed Farooq Qaiser (Arts), Rana Irfan Shakeel Ramay, Col Farooq Shahbaz (Public Service), and Pir Syed Lakht-e-Hasnain (Philanthropy).

The religious scholar Maulana Tariq Jameel received the President’s Award for Pride of Performance.


Along with Tariq Jameel, the same award was also received by Mohammed Ali Shehki (Singing), Resham (Acting), Humayun Saeed (Acting), Ali Zafar (Singing), Ruth Wenny Lekardal (Services), Prof Dr Khalid Masood Gondal (Education), Naimat Sarhadi (Film), Hina Nasrullah (Sufi singing), Sarmad Sehbai (Literature), Indu Mariam Mitha (Dancing), Farhan Mehboob (Sports: squash), Abdul Majeed Qureshi (Philanthropy) and Muhammad Faheem (Arts).

The Tamgha-i-Imtiaz was awarded to Muhammad Tahir Javed, Zeba Shehnaz (Acting), Hameedullah Shah Hashmi, Faisal Edhi (Public Service), Syed Aamir Mehmood, retired Capt. Muhammad Ilyas, Farid Ahmed Khan and Omar Saeed.

The Hilal-i-Imtiaz was given to Prof Dr Anwarul Hassan Gillani (Science: pharmaceutical), Dr Asif Mahmood Jah and Syed Javed Anwar.